Ellistown & Ibstock United FCEllistown_&_Ibstock_United_logo

Members of the East Midlands Counties Premier

2015/16 Finish: 17th

Current Position (2016/17): 22nd (Pld 7 Pts 0)

Current Form: LLLLL

Last Match: L 1-5 vs Anstey Nomads

Latest Report: Ashby Ivanhoe 5-1 Ellistown & Ibstock Utd

Groundhog day

A spirited performance by the lads could not carry us through as a fitter Ashby Ivanhoe (AI) scored 5 second half goals to win 5-1 and continue our poor start to the season.

AI controlled the 1st half and only fine defending, superb saves from our defence and poor finishing from the AI strikers ensured the game went in at half time 0-0.


We started the 2nd half well and were giving AI a game as we looked dangerous going forward and in control at the back.

We should have taken the lead on 50 mins when should have scored from a free header.

This was an expensive miss as 6 mins later the flood gates opened as Kerr Horn made it 1-0 on 56 mins, Luke Thorogood made it 2-0 on 70 mins and Nick Sewell 3-0 on 74 mins.

AI 3-0 EIBS 74 mins

We got the goal we deserved when on 82 mins, George Wilkinson was tripped in the box after a mazie run and Aaron Pride made no mistake from penalty spot with a Pirlo straight down the middle penalty.

AI 3-1 EIBS 82 mins

AI put the game to bed with further goals from Luke Tozer on 80 and 90 mins to make the final score.



Another game, another heavy defeat. Fitness told and AI were clinical in the 2nd half.

We travel to Radcliffe Olympic on Saturday looking for our 1st points of the season.
Up the EIBS

Ellistown And Ibstock Utd 0-6 West Bridgford

A spirited performance by the lads could not carry us through as a fitter West Bridgford (WB) scored 5 goals in the last 20 minutes to win 6-0 and continue their fine start to the season.

This game followed the pattern of our previous games this season, as we gave WB a game until fitness took over.

Majority of the game was played in torrential rain and it was credit to both sides who adapted well to the conditions.

For the first 30 mins, EIBs were content to hit WB on the break and we could have taken the lead on 25 mins when a Van Basten volley from Brandon Hands fizzed the crossbar.

Great goalkeeping from Simon Dye ensured it took WB 30 mins to take the lead when Tom Coole scored direct from a corner.

EIBS 0-1 WB 30 mins

This forced EIBS to come out and attack and both teams went into counter attacked mode but could not add to the scoring during the remaining 15 mins of the 1st half.


With the 2nd half starting with thunder and lightning, EIBS tried to get back in the game and were looking dangerous up front as WB began to over play in front of goal. Could we get the equaliser our effort deserved, the answer was no and on 70 mins we run out of steam and WB capitalised by scoring 4 goals in 10 mins through:-

Jurgen Charlesworth 70 mins, 0-2
Ryan Plummer 73 mins, 0-3
Tom Coole 75 mins, 0-4
Kevin Spriggs 80 mins, 0-5

This was cruel on the lads but football can be a cruel game and this was proven when Gareth Bentley made it 6-0 with the final kick of the game.



Another game, another heavy defeat. We played our best football of the season today but fitness told and WB were clinical in the last 20 mins.

We go into our local derby with Ashby Ivanhoe on Monday as underdogs but anything can happen in derby games.

Up the EIBS


Date Opponent Competition Result
06 Aug 16 Kimberley Miners Welfare (A) EMCP 0-4
13 Aug 16 Holbrook Sports (H) ECMP 0-2
16 Aug 16 Blaby & Whetstone (H) ECMP 0-4
20 Aug 16 Borrowash Victoria (A) ECMP 1-5
23 Aug 16 Anstey Nomads (H) ECMP 1-5
27 Aug 16 West Bridgford (H) ECMP 0-6
29 Aug 16 Ashby Ivanhoe (A) ECMP 1-5
03 Sep 16 Radcliffe Olympic (A) ECMP
10 Sep 16 Bromsgrove Sporting (A) FA Vase
17 Sep 16 Radcliffe Olympic (H) ECMP
20 sep 16 Aylestone Park (A) ECMP
24 Sep 16 Aylestone Park (H) ECMP
01 Oct 16 South Normanton Athletic (A) ECMP
08 Oct 16 Graham Street Prims (H) ECMP
15 Oct 16 Barrow Town (A) ECMP
22 Oct 16 Gedling Miners Welfare (H) ECMP
29 Oct 16 Stapenhill (A) ECMP
05 Nov 16 Radford (H) ECMP
12 Nov 16 Anstey Nomads (A) ECMP
19 Nov 16 Birstall United (H) ECMP
26 Nov 16 Greenwood Meadows (A) ECMP
03 Dec 16 Belpar United (A) ECMP
10 Dec 16 Arnold Town (H) ECMP
17 Dec 16 Blaby & Whetstone (A) ECMP
26 Dec 16 Holwell Sports (A) ECMP
02 Jan 17 Holwell Sports (H) ECMP
07 Jan 17 Holbrook Sports (A) ECMP
14 Jan 17 Borrowash Victoria (H) ECMP
21 Jan 17 West Bridgford (A) ECMP
28 Jan 17 Dunkirk (A) ECMP
04 Feb 17 Greenwood Meadows (H) ECMP
18 Feb 17 Graham Street Prims (A) ECMP
25 Feb 17 South Normanton Athletic (H) ECMP
04 Mar 17 Barrow Town (H) ECMP
11 Mar 17 Gedling Miners Welfare (A) ECMP
18 Mar 17 Stapenhill (H) ECMP
25 Mar 17 Radford (A) ECMP
01 Apr 17 Birstall United (A) ECMP
08 Apr 17 Belpar United (H) ECMP
15 Apr 17 Arnold Town (A) ECMP
17 Apr 17 Ashby Ivanhoe (H) ECMP
22 Apr 17 Kimberley Miners Welfare (A) ECMP
TBC Dunkirk (H) ECMP
TBC Aylestone Park (A) League Cup

Ellistown & Ibstock FC were formed in July 2014 following a merger between Ibstock United and Ellistown FC and are now entering their fourth season. The clubs first season being the most successful in either of the founding club’s history, finishing in third place of the East Midlands Counties League, qualifying for the FA Cup, FA Vase and Westerby Cup and also booking a place in the final of the Coalville Charity Cup.

The Club play their games in the East Midlands Counties League at Terrace Road in Ellistown and also plays host to Ellistown Ladies Football Club.

League History:

Season League P W D L F A PTS POS
2013/14 EMCL 36 22 6 8 86 54 72 3/19
2014/15 EMCL 38 22 7 9 102 71 73 4/20
2015/16 EMCL 36 8 5 23 44 94 29 17/19

Club Links: Official Website

Twitter: @davidhunty

Club Address:

Terrace Road Ground
Terrace Road
LE67 1GD

Anyone who would like to advertise anything in our programme please get in touch via email to andrewgrout@btinternet.com.

Ellistown & Ibstock Utd Football Club Officials

Chairman – Andy Roach
Club Secretary – Sue Standley
Treasurer – Trudy Hunt
Committee Members – David Hunt, David Bancroft, David Haywood, Becky Robinson, Andrew Grout
Management Team – Darren Price, Neil Costello
Groundsman – Bernard Staples, Dave Haywood
Kitchen – Trudy Hunt & Becky Robinson
Bar – Bernard Staples
Programme Editor – Andrew Grout

Club Sponsors:

Below are our current season sponsors to which we extend our grateful thanks.  Without their generous support we would not be able to complete.


All information on this page is thanks to the help of Andrew Grout who is the Press Officer for Ellistown & Ibstock United FC.